Clear & Sheer Class – Day 2 – Vellum Techniques on Beautiful World Cards

Good evening! I’m back with the other two cards I made from day two of the Online Card Classes Clear & Sheer class

20160427_ClearSheerClass

It never ceases to amaze me when Jennifer McGuire does a video, I almost always bookmark it as something I want to try and her video for this day’s class was no exception. The technique was making your own colored vellum. All you have to do is take your dye ink pads and rub them on the vellum, then rub them in with a cloth. If you want rich colors, do both sides. Then you can heat emboss on top of it and get a stunner of a card…

20160503_204425aW

Of course, the beautiful images and script in the latest Stamp of Approval Beautiful World Collection by Catherine Pooler help add to the loveliness! If you didn’t get one, don’t worry, they’ll be out individually by each of the manufacturers in a few months.

Materials used:

  • Stamp of Approval Beautiful World Collection
    • Beautiful World Stamp Set by Gina K
  • Worldwin 48# vellum
  • Memento dye inks: Bamboo Leaves, Nautical Blue, Rhubarb Stalk, Sweet Plum
  • Simon Says Stamp Hybrid Inks: Coral Reef Goldenlocks
  • Versamark Ink
  • Inkadinkado Linen White embossing powder
  • Aleene’s Crystal Clear Tacky Spray
  • Recollections white cardstock

Since it produced such rich colors, I wanted to see what vellum-on-vellum would look like, so I die cut some heat embossed images on vellum and layered them on top for the second card. I even did a little it of dry embossing on some of the leaves. In my honest opinion, you get just as good a look with heat embossing and a lot less fuss!

20160503_204525aW

With all the heat embossing, the plain vellum butterfly looked too plain, so I stuck some Stickles on him and added a few pops of color to some of the flowers to finish it off.

Materials used:

  • Stamp of Approval Beautiful World Collection
    • SugarPea Designs Enchanted Garden stamps and dies
    • SugarPea Designs Enchanted Butterfly die
  • Worldwin 48# vellum
  • Memento dye inks: Bamboo Leaves, Nautical Blue, Rhubarb Stalk, Sweet Plum
  • Simon Says Stamp Hybrid Inks: Coral Reef Goldenlocks
  • Versamark Ink
  • Inkadinkado Linen White embossing powder
  • Aleene’s Crystal Clear Tacky Spray
  • Recollections white cardstock
  • Ranger Stickles Wonderland
  • Nuvo Crystal Drops – Gloss – Dandelion Yellow

I’m going to enter one or both of these cards (either linked from here or Instagram) into the following galleries, hops and challenges – You can click on each one for more information:

I hope to be back tomorrow to show you the two amazing acetate cards I’ve done and hopefully I’ll have time to do one more that I’ve been wanting to do for ages… Do come back to see!

-D.Ann

.

p.s. Any ads you may see are placed by WordPress and are not endorsed by me.

2 thoughts on “Clear & Sheer Class – Day 2 – Vellum Techniques on Beautiful World Cards

  1. (thud….) I am absolutely swooning over your cards, D. Ann!! I’m sorry I didn’t get back here for a couple of days. I am fighting one of those nasty spring colds and have been on the misery and woe list. Today, I finally am beginning to feel a little bit better. But I have had my emails with your lastest installments starred so i wouldn’t forget to come over and look. So glad to not miss these!

    My crafty pal, Karen, has been doing vellum tricks like coloring them with inks, too…which has had fabulous results. Now I see yours with that same awesome look and I wonder why I have never tried this beautiful technique. Your heat-embossing on the vellum is absolutely flawless……I am entirely impressed!!! Wow…I can’t choose which I like better with the images layered or just heat-embossed directly. Both so very lovely……but I think I like magical look of the layered ones a little better. Hard to choose, though.

    Thanks so much for sharing your cards from this class. I just love it all!!!
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com
    HerPeacefulGarden.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.